Home > Reviews > Anne Frank: Book & Mini-Series

Anne Frank: Book & Mini-Series

Anne Frank: The diary of a young girl (Book)

The Diary of a Young Girl is a book based on a diary written by Anne Frank while she was in hiding for two years with her family during the Nazi occupation of the Netherlands. The family was apprehended in 1944 and Anne Frank ultimately died of typhus in the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp. After the war, the diary was retrieved by Anne’s father, Otto Frank. The book is in several lists of the top books of the twentieth century also the most widely read non-fiction book after bible! I would recommend this book to anyone who is willing to be fascinated by the writings of such a young girl.

Excerpts from the diary: “I finally realized that  I must do my school work to keep from being ignorant, to get on in life, to become a journalist, because that is what I want!…I know I can write…but it remains to be seen whether I have real talent…And If I don’t have talent to write books or newspaper articles, I can write always to myself!

I told Daddy that I much more fond of him than Mummy. I had longed to receive my first kiss and was also always getting into trouble for talking. “This morning Peter asked me to if I would come again one evening, and said that I really didn’t disturb him, and if there’s room for one there’s room for two. Surely it is a great day for every girl when she receives her first kiss? Well, then, it is just as important for me too!” Its very hard to read passages where Anne, in her innocence and hope, made plans for when the war is over.

Anne Frank: The whole story (Mini-Series: 190Min)

The mini-series is a touching presentation of the events behind the book and goes far beyond the stage play and film of that title. One of the rare movies that is on par or much better than the book!

Anne, as a punishment for talking, will do a composition entitled ‘Quack, quack, quack: “Once upon a time there was a mother duck with three beautiful ducklings who lived in a lake ruled by a proud swan. ‘Quack, quack, quack’, said Mrs Quackenbush to her brood. ‘Quack, quack, quack’ said the ducklings. ‘Keep your voices down!’ roared the swan, his feathers all in a ruffle, ‘keep quiet or I’ll bite you, and then you’ll never quack again”.

This swan was not a nice swan, he was a black swan, and all the other ducks in the lake were afraid of him. But not Mrs Quackenbush. ‘You won’t bite these children’, she said to the swan, who answered, ‘they are only ugly little ducklings and I am their master’. And then he started to bite the ducklings, ‘save us Mama!’ the poor little ducklings cried. And then Mrs Quackenbush began to quack. She quacked, and she quacked, and she quacked.

‘Stop it! Stop that infernal quacking!’ cried the swan, putting his wings over his ears. But Mrs Quackenbush did not stop, not until the black swan flew away, never to return. She gathered her ducklings around her and together they swam off together happily ever after, singing, ‘quack, quack, quack’.”  The movie ends with a quote ” Anne Frank is only one of the one and half million children murdered in the bloody genocide, the Nazis called it “Final Solution”!

Categories: Reviews
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

